Poetry Reviews

LB Sedlacek

Reviews by LB Sedlacek, some of which first appeared in e-zine issues of “The Poetry Market Ezine”

Poetry Reviews

“Crop Circles” by William Heyen

“Crop Circles”
By William Heyen
75 pages
ISBN: 978-81-8253-697-5
Cyberwit
http://www.cyberwit.com
Copyright 2021

Review by LB Sedlacek

From the opening line of the very first poem in this new collection by William Heyen you know you’re in for something different. The whole time I’m reading the poem, I’m thinking (a) this poem sums up my life (and most everyone else’s) at some point and (b) what a jolt! He doesn’t put you to sleep with the next poem, either. Nope! With a title like “Fentanyl” this poem mirrors a few real life tales I’ve heard about at the hospital, but have never ever dared to write about myself.

The next one, “Dracula,” is a blood boiling poem – you will feel like you are right there in the fanged ones shoes. More deep, sharp, skin prickling poems follow.
From the poem “The Banker”: When the banks opened their doors again, I was there at mine, /

surged in // with all the others to empty my account before whatever happened / to money happened // to mine, but we were all days late & dollars short—no tellers, / no managers, // the cash drawers empty, vault door open to vacant space, deposit boxes / empty, even.”

An experience probably had by more than a few readers. Except, in these poems you can expect the unexpected.

His writing style is connected, but yet not. It will lead you one way then quickly take you another. With lines like this “A Girl Scout came to my door selling brains in old milk bottles / from my childhood” from the poem “The Promise” come a unique point of view that makes you stop, think, and read some more.
These lines are tantalizing. They say what you might think, but would never say out loud or express to anyone else.

Heyen’s voice is exactly original. There are no similarities here, and that’s a good thing. I like to read poems that jump out at me, that leave me wondering, that are not like everyone else’s with a completely original point of view. Heyen’s verses will set your mind on fire and then some!

Here’s another great line from the poem “The Poet”: “I was thinking of scalping a sonnet.” I won’t tell you what the poem is about, you’ll need to read the book for yourself.

Iconic ironic lines flip back and forth from the mundane to the surreal to the macabre and back again. Heyen is a prolific writer and author of many books. With clever poems like these, it’s no wonder.

In my daily poetical work (teaching, critiquing, editing, etc.) I often hear folks taking up issue with how unexciting poetry is. “Crop Circles” though will stop your heart, bleed your mind and maybe just maybe make a poetry lover out of you if you aren’t one already.

~LB Sedlacek is the author of the poetry collections “Words and Bones,” “Simultaneous Submissions,” “The Adventures of Stick People on Cars,” and “The Poet Next Door.” Her first short story collection came out last year entitled “Four Thieves of Vinegar & Other Short Stories.” Her mystery novel “The Glass River” was nominated for the Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award. She writes poetry reviews for “The Poetry Market Ezine” http://www.thepoetrymarket.com You can find out more about her at http://www.lbsedlacek.com


“Septuagenarian” by Sherry Quan Lee

“Septuagenarian”
Love is What Happens When I Die
By Sherry Quan Lee
102 pages
ISBN: 978-1-61599-568-4
Modern History Press
http://www.modernhistorypress.com
Copyright 2021

Review by LB Sedlacek

Sherry Quan Lee has put together a unsettling yet brilliant juxtaposition of sweet and sad, love and anger that will hit you right at your emotional core. The collection feels almost like heartfelt portraits of pain, disconnection, and strength all rolled into one.
Her poems, though, delve deeper beyond emotion presenting lines that achieve poignancy with their build-up. Context is important with any poem and Quan Lee achieves that. Her poems are fulfilling and real.
Her approach is straightforward. Poems examining her life till now offer personal and compelling details. She invites us to participate in her struggle, her internal voyages throughout the years. Her descriptions are vivid and they allow us to see beyond the setting into her internal strife.
Each poem stands alone, but each poem complements the other poem before it. Same with each section of the book. The author doesn’t let you forget that she is human and willing to bare her soul within her verses.
It’s a well-crafted book. Her words will seep into your heart and then some.


“Snapshots” by Bee Parkinson-Cameron

“Snapshots”
By Bee Parkinson – Cameron
Copyright 2021
26 pages
ISBN: 978-93-90601-51-6
Cyberwit
www.cyberwit.net

Review by LB Sedlacek

An artist that works in pictures, a poet who writes poems in snapshots both seem to go together. Do you remember the Polaroid camera and others like it? That camera was intended to take pictures, nothing more much like Parkinson-Cameron seems suited to write these verses that fill these pages.
Her poems illustrate bits, snippets of the every day realization of how different one looks with aging, unpleasant relationships, beauty and more. Each line takes time to develop much like one of those cameras that takes pictures and you have to stand around flapping the paper as you wait for the image to appear.
From the poem “A Stranger Sky”: “You look at the dark sky / and see an absence of stars, / no glittering diamonds / embedded in the shawl of night.” A rich tapestry of words encompasses these lines. It makes me wonder if I should take more time to look at the night sky than I do.
From the poem “Be Brave”: “Be brave even when you feel the anxiety twisting like a snake in /
your belly.” Parkinson-Cameron gives us lines with a twist unexpected. It’s hard to read this and not think of a snake crawling around inside your stomach.
Her poems hit to the heart of the matter attempting to make change, to enlighten to re-frame things so that they are better. These poems give you the feeling that sometimes those who seem unlikely to do well will get that opportunity if they simply persevere. From the poem “Conform or Die”: “There are the ordinary people / They are all around you / So stand up, don’t be shy now / Come on and take a bow. In the court of average living / Standing on display like a prize fish / Your oddity is catch of the day / On the menu, you’re the main dish.”
These poems have a heart pounding tone while reminding you how fragile humans really are. The array of images is vibrant and full – she uses the kind that make you stop and think, and then think some more.
There are some sentimental poems in this collection, too about motherhood, walking in the sand and also for the sun rising. For instance, she tends to hit right at the heart of the subject with a poem all about how cell phones are used for everything but as a phone, which of course is so true Do you use your cell phone as a phone very often? Her poem on this very real dilemma is called “Hey xxx.” Clever title.
Parkinson-Cameron has created a enthralling collection complete with poems that make an impact, and fun poems as well. Always authentic, I like the way her poems tackle the beauty in life, but also how they show the underbelly to things that aren’t so great as well.
Take the poem “Memories Box” for example. It is a cautious poem. One can easily imagine sitting there along with the narrator opening this box of memories.
There is purpose to her poetry. There are also significant words, lines, and verses. She has chosen her poems well to put in this scrapbook that makes up her poetry book.
Parkinson-Cameron has had work published in anthologies. This is her first poetry collection.


“Smart Pills” by E. Martin Pederson

“Smart Pills”
By E. Martin Pederson
Copyright 2021
26 pages
ISBN: 978-93-90601-11-0
Cyberwit
www.cyberwit.net

Review by LB Sedlacek

“Smart Pills” is a new collection of haiku poetry. Each haiku is contained on its own individually, but easily fits along with the others. There are three haiku per page. If you enjoy this shorter traditional form of poetry, you will find much to like about Pederson’s poems.

From page 9: “television is on us / as smallpox blankets / to native tribes.” He uses no capitalization and sparsely uses other punctuation throughout the poems.

The cover photo of a seaside at sunset incorporates the author’s photo as if he’s floating in the surrounding clouds. It’s quite a striking effect drawing the reader to it.

In the opening to his book, Pederson declares that you the reader need to take a smart pill every day to become smart unless of course you don’t believe in them. It gives quite the introduction into the thought producing poems on the page.

From page 10: “artists intrigue / by hiding the I am / under layers of color.” He skillfully presses you into thinking more, producing that a-ha moment when a line really gets to you.

Pederson is originally from San Francisco, but he has lived in Sicily for the past several years. He teaches English there at the University.

With these haiku he delves into the pitfalls of money, drugs, deadlines and marriage, puppies, ointments and more. His poems stay to two to three lines, each line containing minimum syllables. Many of the poems could be quoted on those ever popular Quotes sites online or on social media. Several of them sound like good solid advice someone might give you, perhaps even a professional. Pederson is definitely trying to up your intelligence with these poems.

Here’s one about a vegetable you may or may not eat, from page 18: “artichokes – two hours to prepare / ten minutes to eat.” Of course the poem is talking about cooking and eating an artichoke, but such as this layered plant looks is their more beneath the surface?

Haiku can be unique with its ability to articulate simple things or moments. These types of poems can bring quick pointed enlightenment with only a few words, syllables and lines. In this book, Pederson’s haikus become experiences that cause us to ponder, to pause, or maybe to become passionate about all at the same time. He may speak of the everyday, but he does it in such a way that it uncovers what lies beneath.

Pederson presents 66 haiku in this collection. With them he shows creativity and perception while exploring the world all around us. It is a tapestry of flowing thoughts and words punctuated by the enlightenment they bring. Simply put, this is a harmonious group of poems and yes you will feel a little bit smarter after reading them!

Pederson is quite a noted author. He also has another poetry collection available entitled “Bitter Pills.”


“In My Eyes” by Juelz

In My Eyes
Street Poetry
By Juelz
Copyright 2010
60 pages
ISBN: 978061542407
Juelz Publishing

Review by LB Sedlacek

Juelz put together this book of poems as a way to reach out to youth like him. He starts off this collection with a poem about growth. He follows that with a poem about being chosen by God and what his purpose should be. He has set himself the task of inspiring others from the start and he has done that so well.

From the poem “When my star dropped”: “I stared into the night time sky, I guess wondering why. No / tears, my eyes dry, wondering who we are, then I looked / over and noticed a star.” Juelz writes in a completely modern relatable way. His words are like a chorus of real life plus hope. Every line sizzles with good intentions.

From the poem “Struggle”: “My life is a struggle and I eat off my hustle. The concrete / I walk on is as hard as the souls of the youth.” His poetry obviously means something to him and he wants it to mean something to his readers, too.

The book is divided into 5 chapters. Original photos of the author are interspersed throughout.

From the poem “Violence and Guns”: “Five bullets, stuffed snug in a cold clip, compressed into a / handle with a comfortable rubber grip. The pain this can / cause is more than you can imagine, our young left dead.” Juelz’s poems cut right to the heart, his words are meant to touch and to transform.

These poems dwell on suffering, but also encourage change. He forces us to see for the first time maybe things we wish to avoid or pretend aren’t really happening. Each word has purpose.

The poems are mostly written in free verse, prose with some rhyming. They are well suited for most all ages. Plus they are relatable poems you can understand.

Juelz inspires with these poems with a message that is loud and clear. He brings the verse home, and that’s not always easy to do.

“In My Eyes” is his first poetry collection. “In My Eyes II” and “In My Little Eyes” are the follow up books.


“A Martian Sends a Postcard Home” by Craig Raine

“A Martian Sends a Postcard Home”
By Craig Raine
Copyright 1980
46 pages
ISBN: 019211896X
Oxford University Press

Review by LB Sedlacek

I discovered Raine’s title poem and after reading it I decided to read the whole book. Copies are not easy to come by at least I couldn’t check it out from my library locally or statewide. I had a hard time finding a copy online and finally settled on a good used copy.

The cover of this slender book of poems is startling. There’s a face right on the cover. The illustration is titled “Head of a Young Pierrot” a drawing from 1912 by Paul Klee. It really fits. The book opens with the title poem. It presents an unusual assessment of planet Earth from a different point of view. The poem itself won a prestigious award.

The rest of the poems in the book, though, are not all about Mars or aliens or even science fiction in theme. Subjects range from churchgoing with mother, a baby girl, sex couplets (indeed the poem is called “Sexual Couplets”), flooding, mortuaries, Greece, Karma, shallots, dandelions, dressmaking, the dark, lighthouses and so on. It’s a wide ranging compilation. It leaves one in anticipation of turning the page to see what’s next in a good way.

His form seems to stick to two line or four line verses for the most part throughout the book. Some poets write in strict forms, some come up with forms of their own. The best poets probably come up with their own versions of how their words align themselves.

Back to the title poem, it’s so remarkable how he has the alien viewing adults dealing with babies calling them ghosts, and calling going to the bathroom the punishment room with only water and different smells. Raine is the author of some other poetry books.

Of course with this title poem and book, it’s easy to see why Raine is most closely associated with Martian poetry. This type of poetry was a minor movement in the late 70’s and early 80’s in British poetry. In it, poems have everyday things or human behaviors described in an unusual or strange way sort of as a Martian might describe it if he/she/it were visiting Earth and didn’t understand what they were seeing.

The rest of the poems in the collection, though, aren’t authored from a Martian point of view that I could tell. Each one stands well on its own.

These were good poems. I savored each one. I’ll be looking around to find some other works by Raine to read as well.


“Selected Poems” by Steen Anderson

“Selected Poems”
By Steen Anderson
Copyright 2021
70 pages
ISBN: 978-93-90601-15-8
Cyberwit.net
http://www.cyberwit.net

Review by LB Sedlacek

Steen writes gripping, thrilling poems in this thoughtful collection. It’s everything you’d want in a poetry book. His lines get under your skin as if he gets how you really feel.

The book is divided into 8 poem sections. Each one seems to build on the last, but each one also stands on its own. His words draw you in, he writes with a unique voice and sense of self.

From “Islands”: “Headstones glitter in the sun / there was never a church over there / the dead are in a place where they didn’t belong….” Those are the lines that start off the island poems. From a graveyard, to flowers, to boat travel, to the sea, the horizon – Anderson expertly navigates each page into a poem of wonder, adventure and compelling verse.

“Insomnia is insistent here,” “Pictures arrange themselves on the walls,” “To chase the day, that’s their constant saying,” “The lines and colours of the map are just an image” are some of the delicate lines you will find in these poems. Each poem draws you in.

My favorite poem was from the “Boundaries” section. Here are the beginning lines: “She’s close to the painting / as if she wants to breathe in the smell of oils / to return to its making….” These lines are full of possibilities such as being in an art museum, speaking to a stranger, speaking the person in the painting, and so on.

Anderson has an authentic way of writing. His is an essential voice. This is a good book of poetry.


“Shadows” by Alexandra Grant and Keanu Reeves

“Shadows”
by Alexandra Grant and Keanu Reeves
Steidl
Copyright 2016
96 Pages
ISBN: 978-3869308272

Review by LB Sedlacek

This is a neat idea for a poetry book. I love the concept. Poetry doesn’t have to be complicated. It can be illustrated with words and pictures. Don’t just read this book because of its famous author, read it because you enjoy a different kind of poetry.
I would love to be able to read Reeves’ other poetry book, “Ode to Joy,” but alas I cannot find a copy to check out, borrow, and due to its rarity it’s too expensive to buy. One day, maybe!


“Ignition Point” by Gary Beck

“Ignition Point”
By Gary Beck
Cyberwit Press
116 Pages
Copyright 2021
ISBN: 978-93-90601-02-8
http://www.cyberwit.net

Review by LB Sedlacek

Beck’s passion for poetry leaps off the pages in this new poetry collection.  Each poem covers a real life event, observation or emotion.  The words are vivid and raw, but also soothing.

From “Last Resort”:  “I lost my job / when they hired a kid / at half my salary.”

From “To the Fires”:  “Combustible materials / frequently fall / into the wrong hands.”

You feel like you are a part of his poetical world as you read each poem.  The poems wash over you with feelings of relating to the situations in them or they come at you in a hurry making you really think about things.

From “Purchase Power”:  “persistent to obtain / the promised land, / denied entry / by callous servants / of the lords of profit,”

My favorite poem from the collection was “Renewal.”  Lines from the poem:  “Magnolias briefly bloom / dazzling the eyes / with elegant beauty, / intoxicating the  nose / with nature’s finest scent / never duplicated / in contrived laboratories.”

What ease I felt reading this poem and imagining the giant magnolia trees in my back yard where I grew up. 

Life in the big city (NYC), cell phones use, and so many other interesting views fall into the rest of the poems that round out this collection.

From “Purchase Power II”:  “Patrons of the art world / bid at auction / competing for masterworks / against rival appetites, efforts rewarded / by acquisition,”

There’s so much to feel, think and absorb here.  This is a must have collection for your poetry shelf!


“Refusing Heaven” by Jack Gilbert

“Refusing Heaven”
by Jack Gilbert
Alfred A. Knopf
92 Pages
Copyright 2005
ISBN: 978-0-375-71085-8

Review by LB Sedlacek

I recently read a poem by Gilbert, so then I went searching for his full-length collections. I decided to start with this one. It won the National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry.

These poems are what I’d call urban, and remind me of some of Carl Sandburg’s Chicago poems. I feel the intensity in each word, the build up with each line. There’s nothing held back in his writing. I like poems like that – ones that encourage you to go up to the edge, tiptoe up to it, barely look over, then get even closer until you are almost over on the other side … or not, your choice.

He’s not afraid to rhyme, throw in some Beat verses, and write completely original lines however he wants. That takes an indie spirit and heart. It’s the kind of verse we need, especially these days.

I’m glad I discovered Gilbert. I’m glad to find a poet who thinks outside the box, like me.

Overall lots of imagery and provocative thoughts here. This is some fine poetry.


“Trio” by Karla Huston, Ellaraine Lockie, and Connie Post

“Trio”
by Karla Huston, Ellaraine Lockie, and Connie Post
The Wapshott Press
ISBN 9781942007340
89 pages
Copyright 2020

Review by LB Sedlacek

The three voices in this collection by three female
poets work perfectly together. Each section
perfectly blends with the next, or the one preceding
it. It’s almost as if all three of these poets wrote
side by side.

Each set of poets and poets focused on a theme:
mothers and daughters, chronicling life, and
water. It’s a resounding and striking set of poems.

All three poets are quite accomplished and it
shows in these poems. The poems seem to have
a rhythm all their own, a poetical melody. For
instance, Lockie’s poem “Seattle’s Rite of Spring”
begins “Hardly Stravinsky’s riotous fling / of jarring
rhythms and dissonant notes / That offering to the
gods of spring….” While in Huston’s poem “How I
Remember It” starts with “I watched my mother
can green beans, / while the kitchen filled with a
dizzy yellow light. / Sugared tomatoes puddled in
her white bowls;….” In “Before” Post’s poem
jumps right in with “I am the tsunami / before it
hits….” Three gifted voices contrasting with one
another while complementing each other all the
same.

This book was a pleasure to read. I savored every
minute of it.


“Defense Mechanisms” by Jessica Goody

“Defense Mechanisms”
by Jessica Goody
Phosphene Publishing Co.
Phosphenepublishing.com
ISBN 978-0-9851477-7-8
Copyright 2016
114 pages

Review by LB Sedlacek

The first poem “The Mermaid” that opens
Jessica Goody’s poetry book is a frank look
at turning a mermaid into a human. It’s a
captivating poem, chock full of startling
images of what would most likely happen
to a real mermaid on land. It’s a stark
welcome to a world of poems that touch
on many different emotions, circumstances
and experiences with varying approaches.

Other poems in Part One (Being Handicapped)
are exact looks at real life in poetical form:
From “Drawing Blood” – “I feel the pinch
and snap of the sterile / tourniquet clinching
my flaccid bicep,” and from “Extraction” –
“They don’t look like they belong in the
body, / but are foreign objects meant to be
removed. / My swollen cheeks are soft and
foreign to the touch.”

The poem “Awakening” compares puberty
to the tale of Rip Van Winkle. “Fog People”
melds a fog like existence to dealing with
the outside world and physical limitations.

In Part Two (Green Sentinels) of the book,
the poem “Suicide Methods” is a poignant
take on a razor/bathtub death presenting it
in such a way that it almost seems okay.
“Fallen Apples” turns harvesting apples
into a soft subtle memory and a real
experience almost like being there. Read
this poem and it will make you crave an
apple. From “Ode to a Sea Lion” –
“Your cough-like back warns / he is unwelcome
on your turf. / It is a gang war, bull versus
bull.” This is a poem that will make you
channel just that, a sea lion!

Part Three (Other Voices) seems to head
into a kind of gray area almost like
a meditative chart. From “The Color of
Rain” – “…The damp concrete glints,
bathed in the afterglow / of a passing
storm.”

Goody’s work is just like a storm –
it starts slowly, grows large and
powerful then subsides. You’ll be
glad you read it if you pick up this
work.


“Appearances” by Michael Collins

“Appearances”
by Michael Collins
Saddle Road Press
ISBN 978-0-9969074-5-3
Copyright 2017
83 pages

Review by LB Sedlacek

The opening poem, also the title poem in
Michael Collins’ “Appearances” lets you
the reader know what you’re in for – a
rich symphony of woven words and
flowing images. From “Appearances”:
“sky, wind, unbreathable / in graves of
language / almost enough ….” The next
poem is just as powerful – “Poem For a
Predator” with the narrator as a wolf on
the beach of everyday existence. There’s
more to the message in this poem,
“Creatures preying on one another / for
no good reason, only instinct, living / and
dying out ….” “Winter” evokes images
of playing in the snow, making snow
angels, what the world looks like that
time of year. “Creation” is another
winter like poem as it talks of the
uniqueness of snowflakes: “seem to
have been made / in the image of a
paper weight.” “Fall” is another
season poem where the narrator
becomes a leaf.

“Fog” is set on the beach, near the
sea and in this poem Collins
examines his own images,
spaces, how the poem is being written –
an interesting and thought provoking
choice. “Do I have a right to these
images, / to lyric the space between
me and / my vision? ….” (From the
poem “Fog”). “Negatives of Soul”
continues in the beach / seaside
theme contemplating herring feeding
near the dock, fish in the sea and
how they exist without knowledge
of us. The words, phrases, verses,
spaces in this poem flow like ocean
or lake water back and forth lulling
in the reader into a peaceful journey.
“Matins” is another lulling poem –
you will be pulled in by the strong
images and lines such as “I wear
into the plastic world, the fog /
my destiny. The landscape permits
this, /”.

Poems are vital to society. Poets
come to us from diverse backgrounds
providing us with unique works and
that’s what Collins has done with
this collection. He is a poet of
remarkable range and skill, his
poems are observations of the
shared essence of nature, man
and their struggles, strengths
and vulnerabilities. In these poems,
he has put together an admirable
book.


“Parabola Dreams” by Silvia Scheibli and Alan Britt

“Parabola Dreams”
by Silvia Scheibli and Alan Britt
Bitter Oleander Press
ISBN 978-0-9786335-9-2
Copyright 2013
113 pages

Review by LB Sedlacek

“Parabola Dreams” is divided into two parts –
the first part is by Silvia Scheibli, the second
by Alan Britt. The poems while written
separately seem to complement each others.

In Scheibli’s “Parabolas (For Alan Britt),” she
writes of two selves, the physical and the
spiritual while conjuring up poetical connections
from Knights, Taoists, Rumi, Mira Bai,
Shakespeare, Rilke, etc. of why poets write poems.
In “En El Dia de los Muertos – Nogales, Sonora,
Mexico” she talks of death drinking cappuccinos
at a bar. Her poems take on nature, dreams,
soccer, stockings, Kokopelli, the lack of rain,
ironing – a cornucopia of subjects.

Britt continues with poems that join forces,
so to speak, by tackling subjects such as
Maple seeds, Spanish wine, heat waves,
cucumbers, dreams, Langston Hughes, and
hanging drywall.

In “Picking Cucumbers” the imagery
Britt uses makes the reader feel as if they
are in the garden with him. “Nuns” is
a fun poem totally not about what you
think a nun may be normally doing (let’s
just say it involves a 1956 T-Bird). “Ode
to 1958” is about a teacher at a county fair
or is it? It turns into a poem about poetry
and polo playing and the Lobster Man!

These two authors/poets write differently,
but their poems balance well with each
other because there’s so much imagination
so much good language dripping with
visuals that what’s on each page is
something to savor.

Britt and Scheibli have joined words,
joined forces in a very powerful way!


“Reality Check” by Ricky Rapoport Friesem

“Reality Check”
Word Sonnets
by Ricky Rapoport Friesem
Kipod Press
ISBN 9789659097128
Copyright 2012
73 pages

Review by LB Sedlacek

When I opened Ricky Rapoport Friesem’s
poetry book, the first line I read was
“*Fourteen line poems, with one word per
Line” underneath the title. Immediately,
I wondered how would this be accomplished
and couldn’t wait to turn the pages. One of
the neat things about poetry is brevity!

“Arrival” is the first poem and it welcomes
you (the reader) while setting the stage for
a poem of oh there you are oh well kind of
relationships we can all relate to. The next
poem, “Booby-Trapped” talks about taking
the train to Tel Aviv. “Closing Bell” is
about school ending for the day. “Confession”
goes into the anxious wait for someone to
come home.

More poems delve into the cosmos, cats,
what we do to please others, Auschwitz,
loss of a loved one, hotels, jam sessions and
more. Speaking of jam sessions, these poems
could easily be set to music or at the very
least performed as spoken word.

From “Penguins” – “See / them / waddle /
flap / flap / gather / then / they / scatter, /…”

Each poem is a 15 maybe 20 second
departure into the words for the reader. The
poems are fun, make you think, a great intro
to poetry for non-poetry readers and a quick
tap on the forehead or heart into what makes
a poem or poet tick.
This collection by Ricky Rapoport Friesem is
a keeper – you’ll want to keep it on your
bookshelf to read again and again!


“To the Dogs” by Roberta Gould

“To the Dogs”
by Roberta Gould
Flame Tree Press
44 Skea Rd.
West Hurley, NY 12491
ISBN 978-0-6925-8875-8
Copyright 2016
70 pages
robertagould.net

Review by LB Sedlacek

Delightful dog (and sometimes cat) pictures
are scattered throughout Gould’s book of
poems about dogs we love. In “Scanning”
she describes dropping a plate of food on
the floor and a dog checking it out.
“Compensations” talks about a guide dog.

The poem “Dog” is a poem devoted to a
day in the life of a dog.

“4. / Teasing the cat in the morning. /
her growl is feigned /
all teeth and delight”

“12. / “Get off!” you command, /
she circles the linoleum /
noisy nails scraping and sliding”

Gould examines the many ways dogs
are a part of our lives in this collection.
The poems have the voice of an animal
lover and an observer of dogs in action,
in everyday life and living with humans.

From “Does a Dog Have Buddha Nature?”
The Master Asked
“I process minerals / develop a gizzard /
and robots do my work”

From “Viet Nam”
“A dog stalking the wreckage /
a genocidal pilot /
trailing white clouds of silk”

Gould’s poems will make you want a dog
(or maybe to volunteer and work with dogs)
if you don’t have one already!


“Splitting an Order” by Ted Kooser

“Splitting an Order”
by Ted Kooser
ISBN 978-1-55659-469-4
Copyright 2014
Copper Canyon Press
87 Pages

Review by LB Sedlacek

Ted Kooser writes easy to understand poems
that float in and out of the mind with
such eash you may not even realize you’ve
just read one of his poems. In this
latest collection, he covers every day
subjects and happenings such as a visit
to Arby’s, bad news, running errands, etc.

These poems make me think of snapshots
of life, things that any reader of this
book could or may experience. In “A
Meeting after Many Years” this poem takes
us to that awkward moment when you run
into someone you used to know. “In a
Gift Shop” is all about a young lady
helping an older lady pick out cards.
In “Two” the poem drifts around passing
a father and son dressed in ties and
shirts looking so much alike.

The tone of these poems is warm. The
words are plain spoken. Kooser takes
the smallest details and makes the
reader want to read about them.

The final poem, “At a Kitchen Table”
printed also on the back cover sums
it up the best likening a warmly lit
kitchen table with everyone gathered
around listening to and telling
stories. Kooser tells stories in his
poems whether you care to hear them
or not.


The Poetry Market Ezine was published from Sept 2001 – Dec 2020 by Poet, Author, Publisher, Editor, & Poem Critic, LB Sedlacek

LB Sedlacek